Department of Aging and Community Living

DC Agency Top Menu

Heat Emergency - A heat emergency is in effect for Washington, DC. Residents are urged to take precautions against the heat.
Find cooling centers and more information about heat emergencies.

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Commission on Aging

The District of Columbia Commission on Aging is a citizen's advisory group to the Mayor, District Council, Department of Aging and Community Living, and the general public on the needs and concerns of older Washingtonians. The Commissioners serve as advocates on behalf of the District's nearly 110,000 elderly and accomplish their responsibilities through outreach to individuals and institutions, as well as to groups and governments.

The Commission's 15 members are appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Council of the District of Columbia. Eight of the appointees must be 60 years of age or older.

Commission on Aging


  • Carolyn Matthews, Ward 1
  • Nancy Miranda, Ward 1
  • George Arnstein - Ward 2
  • John Giacomini - Ward 3
  • Marguerite Pridgen - Ward 3
  • Barbara Lee - Ward 4
  • Grace Lewis - Ward 5
  • Hattie Pierce - Ward 5
  • Alice Love, Ward 6
  • Charles Hicks - Ward 6
  • Mary Taylor - Ward 7
  • Constance B. Woody - Ward 7
  • Guleford BoBo - Ward 8
  • Barbara S. Hair - Ward 8